Freedom Summer by Deborah Wiles

Each week I find a new favorite picture book.  Freedom Summer, written by Deborah Wiles and illustrated by Jerome Lagarrigue is my new favorite.  It is a great read-aloud for all ages.  It is an informative story that needs to be told over and over again as well as remembered.

Joe and John Henry are best friends.  They both love to play marbles, eat ice pops and swim in Fiddler’s Creek.  And, when they grow up, they’re both planning to be firemen.   It seems as nothing can separate these two, except race.  John Henry’s skin is “the color of browned butter” while Joe’s skin is “the color of the pale moths that dance around the porch light at night.”  Although the boys see nothing wrong with one another’s skin color, their small southern community sees things differently.  In the early 1960’s, there are some things they just can’t do together.  John Henry’s not allowed to swim in the town pool or buy his ice pops at Mr. Mason’s General Store.  When laws are passed to end segregation, the boys thought it would mean big changes.  Unfortunately things didn’t change exactly the way the two boys dreamed. 

History came alive for me in this book.  This book put names and faces to one of the most intense struggles our country has ever faced.  It described how many racist people went through great lengths in order to prevent integration under the Civil Rights Act of 1964.  There were whites all across the South who refused to cooperate and open their doors in equality for all.  Instead, they found it better to close establishments, treat blacks poorly, or come up with other loopholes – like shutting down a public pool by filling it up with tar.

This book is a great lesson on history as it touches on the emotional impact of civil rights and integration.  This book was not only wonderfully told, but it is also educationally sound.  It is a story of racism, hatred as well as friendship.  I plan to use this book next year during Black History Month. I learned in Chapter 6 that historical fiction picture books, “provides a way to introduce the historical fiction genre to younger children.”  “Connecting humanity to historical times is strength of the focus of the picture book topic and format for disseminating the personal side of history.”  This story is written in a manner that young children will be able to understand and relate to while the bold, colorful illustrations complement the story.  I hope that while this book focus on segregation, my students will also be able to relate it to issues of bullying and prejudice.  The teachable moments from using this book are endless.

2 responses to “Freedom Summer by Deborah Wiles

  1. I agree that this is a book we could use for some help in the bullying area. My kids are horrible in this area and I would love to nip this in the bud if we could. The simple story will make it so easy for our students to relate to as well as respond.

  2. Once again, I read your posts and I start smiling. 🙂 Your “new favorite” is how I feel ALL OF THE TIME!!! I know people think I’m crazy (for many reasons) but you can’t help it when you read so many beautiful books! Did you read Deborah Wiles’s posts on COUNTDOWN? She actually mentioned the illustrations in this book and here is what she said, “You asked about the artistic decisions in FREEDOM SUMMER. I made no decisions. I was asked for input on illustrators, and I offered some suggestions, but when Jerome Lagarrigue walked through Simon & Schuster’s door with his portfolio, Anne Schwartz knew he was the one, and she was right. FS was Jerome’s 2nd book, and he made all the artistic choices, including the decision to use acrylic paint and to paint the pictures as if they were part of a movie — you’ll see how he opens with a large frame and pulls back and then opens again in key scenes, and gives us a close-up of John Henry’s face, pulls back, and then shows the small frame in the end — all his choosing. He did a fantastic job, and elevated the text. When I saw the art for the first time, I cried.”
    I thought you may want to read this…
    Also, I appreciate your comment about “history coming alive.” I couldn’t agree more…why would we need social studies textbooks if we could read biographies, historical fiction and ‘wow’ nonfiction about people, places and events in social studies?

Leave a comment